Scholarship Application Guideline

Click here for an Application.These awards have been presented annually by the 6th Ward Athletic Club, in some cases, going back to the early 1970’s.  The values of their annual awards have steadily risen over time thanks to the generosity of the Club, its members and associated friends of the Club.  A three member committee of scholars developed the Club’s scholarship criteria and evaluate student applications each year.

  1. Scholarships are open and available to any student attending high school in Oneonta or Unatego.  Association membership is not criteria for application, however special consideration may be given to applicants with relatives who are or have been active association members.
  2. The selection committee will be composed of a minimum of three (3) individuals appointed by the Foundation Board.
  3. Up to four scholarships of $500.00 each may be awarded each year. If less than four scholarships are awarded in any given year, the un-awarded scholarship money may be carried to be awarded in following years.
  4. The scoring system for determination of awards is as follows:
    SCHOLASTIC —- 10 points
    ESSAY —- 10 points
  5. Scholastic achievement is to be determined by high school average at the end of the first semester of the applicants’ senior year.
  6. Scholarship money will be awarded after the student has produced a transcript showing successful completion of one semester of college with a grade point average of 2.5 or better. Scholarship monies must be paid to the educational institution in the scholarship winner’s name within one year of the award date.
  7. Scholarship applications will be available at the 6th Ward Athletic Association, 22 West Broadway, Oneonta, NY, on the club website and at applicable high school guidanceoffices.
  8. Completed applications must be submitted by April 30 of each scholarship year. The scholarship year is defined as June 1 – May 31. Incomplete scholarship applications will not be considered by the Foundation.
    6th Ward Athletic Association Foundation, Inc., 22 West Broadway, Oneonta, NY 13820
    Attention: Scholarships 

    Decisions will be made by June 1. Recipients and guidance office will be notified as soon as possible after this date.

2023 Academic Scholarship Awards
Abigail Platt (OHS)
Peyton Mackey (OHS)
Megan Cleveland (OHS)
Isabella Gracias (OHS)

Athletes of the Year
Finlay Oliver
Abigail Platt

Dollars for Scholars
Jesse O'Donnell

Nick Sparaco (Riverside)
Shaquon Hutchinson
Fiona Heindl
Dominick Alexander
Cristal Savinon

Finlay Oliver
Maggie Nealis

Caitlin Kelly
Tiffany Gardner


Peyton Mackey

Peyton Mackey - 2023 Academic Scholarship Award Winner - OHS

Megan Cleveland

Megan Cleveland - 2023 Academic Scholarship Award Winner - OHS


Abigail Platt - 2023 Academic Scholarship Award Winner - OHS

Paige McCoy

Isabella Gracias - 2023 Academic Scholarship Award Winner - OHS